DIY Pumpkin Puree

I love fall. I love the colder weather. I love the boots. I love apples. I love pumpkins. Now that fall is finally here, I had to celebrate so I convinced the boyfriend to take me pumpkin and apple picking.

He looks so happy, doesn’t he?

We picked up a little more than three pounds of apples and a decent sized pumpkin. And what did I decide to do with all of my spoils? Bake with it, of course! So today I decided to try my hand at making some homemade pumpkin puree. I will say that I think I was a little unprepared for what was coming. I have never carved a pumpkin before, so I had no idea where to begin. But with a little help from boyfriend’s mom, pumpkin puree was a success.

Homemade Pumpkin Puree

  • Cut pumpkin into small chunks. Try your best to make the chunks the same size. Scoop out seeds into a separate bowl.
  • Place flesh down in a large pot with approximately 1/4 cup of water.
  • Steam pumpkin for 20-30. minutes (You’ll know that it’s ready when you can pull the rind off with your fingers.)
  • Allow pumpkin to cool slightly. Scoop flesh into blender.
  • Puree in blender until smooth.

I roasted the leftover seeds while I steamed the pumpkin. Even if you don’t eat them, it makes the house smell like fall. =)

  • To roast pumpkin seeds, collect all seeds in a bowl. Lightly coat seeds with butter. Spread on cookie sheet. Roast at 300ºF for about 30 minutes.

I can’t wait to use my new puree! What fall goodies are you making this season?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

